Jaime & Nora

October 3, 2013 at 10:52 pm Leave a comment

Nora was born on October 3rd, 2013 – She was 8lbs 3 oz 20 1/2 inches long…th smallest of my kids. Ethan my oldest was 8lbs 8 oz 22 1/2 inches, Nico was 8.5 oz 21 1/2 inches long. So good size babies. 🙂

At 4:30pm I started having very mild contractions. They were not very painful and I could move around – they were just consistent. I left a message for the midwife at 5:30 pm just letting them know that my contraction have been consistent for an hour but have not increased in strength. I got a call back 10-15 min later from the midwife and she started asking me how far apart they were and other questions. While we were on the phone, we timed them – they were about 4-5 min apart and I think 20-40 seconds long. But still not intense.

As I was talking to the midwife my water broke. She asked if I wanted to get my things and head over to the Birth Center. I asked if I could eat dinner first and then come over she said that was fine, but to come over in an hour. So at 8pm, my husband and I got to the birth center. The next two hours were very boring. No increase in strength of contraction and Nora was monitoring just fine.

At 9:30pm they gave me a smoothie with I think cod liver oil, Almond butter and lemon, to help get things moving. I actually really liked it. By 10:30 my contractions started to increase and I had to breath through about 4-5 of them — I used the breath exercise we did in prenatal yoga. I slid into the bath tub where I had one strong contraction that made me feel like pushing, which also made me feel like I had to go pooh.

The midwife was in the room next door and had just caught another baby. I got out of the tub afraid to release a pooh in the tub, sat on the toilet had another strong pushing contraction. Now I felt like Nora ‘s head was coming out as I put my hand down below and could feel her head.

I quickly voiced for my husband to get the midwife. Less then a min later the midwife assistant Micky came into the bathroom right when I was having another strong contraction. Micky quickly ordered me to get off the toilet. She grabbed my arm as my other hand was holding Nora’s head. As I swiftly moved to the bathroom floor, Nora slid into Micky’s hands and she caught her. So three pushes and my little girl made it safely into the midwife assistant’s hands at 10:52pm.

I’m glad the final labor was fast. I was worried that it might take a while because of how long it took for the contractions to become more intense after my water broke. But I have no complaints – Nora came out calm and relaxed and interested in her surroundings. It was a beautiful, relaxed birth. I think my yoga practice helped make this an easy transition.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Lila & Kira Jennifer & Olivia

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Birth Story Archive

Enter your email address to receive when new birth stories are posted.

Join 3 other followers


